University Park, IL,
12:54 PM

President Maimon Welcomes New Trustees, Thanks Former Board

Governor J.B. Pritzker recently announced seven appointments to Governors State University’s Board of Trustees.

Incoming Trustees Kevin Brookins, John Brudnak, Pedro Cevallos-Candau, Lisa Harrell, Angela Hickey, James Kvedaras, and Anibal Taboas join student Trustee Lester Van Moody. 

GSU President Elaine P. Maimon noted three of the new trustees are GSU graduates—Brookins, Hickey, and Kvedaras.  "The entire GSU community joins me in welcoming our alumni and  trustees into these important positions. We look forward to working with them as GSU progresses into its next fifty years."

Dr. Maimon also recognized the service of former Trustees Carney Barr, Bruce Friefeld, Cornelius Griggs, Pat Ormsby, Masah SamForay, Lorraine Tyson, and student Trustee Linda Coleman. "Special thanks to former Board Chair Pat Ormsby, who led the Board through the challenging years of the budget impasse and presided over the university’s initial recovery,'' Dr. Maimon said.

Please see for information from the Governor’s Office about each trustee.