University Park, IL,
14:58 PM

GovState faculty leaders recognized as Professor Emerita

Congratulations are in order for three retired Governors State University (GovState) faculty leaders who were recently awarded Professor Emerita status.

Drs. Jeannine M. Klomes, Cheryl Mejta and Jun Zhao were recognized with the new title at the latest Board of Trustees meeting for their significant contributions to teaching, scholarship and service, and to GovState students, faculty, staff and community.

Dr. Klomes worked in the College of Education and Human Development (CEHD) full-time since 2000, having served as an Assistant and Associate Professor in Early Childhood Education, an interim director for the Family Development Center, coordinator for the Early Childhood Education programs, and later an Associate Professor for the Education Administration (Principal Licensure) program.

Dr. Mejta served in the College of Health and Human Services (CHHS), working her way from Assistant Professor in 1985 to Full Professor in 2005. She held several administrative positions, including Chair of the Department of Addictions Studies and Behavioral Health and Director of the Peer Recovery Support Specialist Training Program.

Dr. Zhao started her career at GovState as an Assistant Professor of Management in the College of Business (COB) in 1999 and in 2012, stepped into her first leadership role as Chair of the Division of Management, Marketing, and Public Administration. She became Dean of COB in 2017 and was instrumental in COB attaining initial Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) accreditation in 2016 and the re-accreditation in 2022.

Congratulations Drs. Klomes, Mejta and Zhao!